Chesapeake Assault Lawyer

Dealing with an assault charge in Virginia can be challenging and intimidating. A Chesapeake assault lawyer with experience in these types of cases can advise you on what your legal options are and how to proceed. Make sure you fully understand what you are facing if you’ve been accused of an assault related offense. Call an assault lawyer in Chesapeake today to schedule a free consultation.

A Chesapeake Assault Lawyer Can Help You

Our seasoned assault attorneys in Chesapeake provide clients with a full legal assessment of their case, applying the full scope of the law as it pertains to each case. In addition, our Chesapeake assault lawyers provide clients with answers to any questions and concerns they may have, planning and support for court appearances, full case preparation services, and advice on different legal approaches, tailored for each client on a case-by-case basis. A Chesapeake assault lawyer will work one-on-one with you to develop a plan based specifically on the facts and circumstances of your particular case. Let us defend your case, and you will have the confidence of knowing you are not dealing with this situation alone.

Virginia Assault Laws

A person can be charged with simple assault, governed by Virginia Code 18.2-57, when he/she uses threat or force against another person which reasonably causes

Assault Lawyer in Chesapeake Virginiathat person to fear imminent physical harm. Actual physical contact is not necessary to be charged with assault (VA Code 18.2-57). A charge of assault and battery can result when an assault has been committed, and there is also harmful or offensive physical contact (VA Code 18.2-57). Both crimes are classified as Class 1 misdemeanors punishable by up to 12 months in jail, and/or a fine no greater than $2,500.

However, harsher penalties can apply depending upon who the victim of the crime is. If the victim of an assault is chosen because of his/her nationality, race, or religion, the punishment is 6 months in jail with a 30-day mandatory minimum sentence (VA Code 18.2-57(B)). If the victim of such a crime is harmed by the physical contact, the charge is then classified as a Class 6 felony (VA Code 18.2-57(B)).

Assaulting an officer engaged in the performance of his/her public duties, including police officers, judges, magistrates, firefighters, correctional officers, and emergency medical services personnel, also comes with a harsher penalty of 1 to 5 years in prison, with a 6-month mandatory sentence (VA Code 18.2-57(C); VA Code 53.1-1). Assaulting an educator or a health care provider is considered a Class 1 misdemeanor, punishable by up to 12 month in jail and/or $2,500 fine, with an enhanced penalty of a 2-day mandatory minimum jail sentence (VA Code 18.2-57(D); VA Code 18.2-57(E)).

Call a Chesapeake Assault Lawyer Today

Remember that you are innocent until proven guilty. The burden of proving guilt is on the prosecutor. Make sure you have a full legal assessment of your case before your day in court so that you are fully prepared for what you are facing. A Chesapeake assault lawyer can provide you with just that, as well as a strong defense to have your charges dismissed or reduced, or to have your penalties reduced. We work each case diligently, from start to finish. Let us defend your case. Call today to get your free consultation.