Chesapeake Domestic Violence Lawyer

If you have been charged with domestic violence in Virginia, you should secure the legal assistance of an experienced Chesapeake domestic violence lawyer as soon as possible. Domestic violence offenses are serious charges that require an equally serious defense from a dedicated criminal defense lawyer. Our attorneys are intent on providing you with an aggressive defense to fight for your rights.

How a Chesapeake Domestic Violence Attorney Can Help

In Virginia, domestic violence is defined as assault and battery against a spouse, a former spouse, a family member, or a household member. Because domestic violence cases are between family and household members, these cases are typically very sensitive and involve a great deal of emotions. For that reason, domestic violence cases need to be treated very carefully by an experienced attorney who can confidently combat the charges against you.

Our legal team understands the charges you are confronting. We attempt to inform and educate our clients throughout the entire defense process, ensuring that our clients understand the implications of the charges they face as well as possible outcomes of their case. Our domestic violence attorneys in Chesapeake can:

  • Protect your reputation;
  • Provide you with the facts about the domestic violence charges against you, and,
  • Prepare your case so that you have the best chance of achieving a positive outcome.

The Price of Inaction

Domestic violence is a crime that can have serious consequences, both personal and legal. The penalties associated with a domestic violence conviction could result in a misdemeanor or felony conviction that would be placed on a convicted person’s permanent record. In Virginia, the penalty for domestic violence upon conviction can include:

  • A Class 1 misdemeanor punishable by up to one year in jail and a fine of up to $2,500.
  • A first time offender may be placed on probation and ordered treatment by the court.
  • Being convicted of two or more domestic violence offenses is punishable as a Class 6 felony resulting in up to one year in jail, one to five years in prison, and a fine of up to $2,500.

One important reality to recognize is that a person can be convicted on a domestic violence charge without actually physically harming another person. Proof that a person had the intent to harm another is enough to justify a conviction – for example, throwing an object towards another, without the object actually having hit them, may be enough.

Because a domestic violence offense is such an ominous charge, seeking out a knowledgeable and proficient Chesapeake domestic violence attorney is very important to ensure you have a strong defense.

Do Not Face a Chesapeake Domestic Violence Case Alone

When you are charged with a domestic violence offense in Chesapeake, circumstances may seem dire. Our Chesapeake attorneys that deal with domestic violence are here to help create a case that protects your rights and fights for the maintenance of your innocence.