Chesapeake Drug Lawyer

Drugs charges in Virginia can be quite complex. The severity of the crime can vary greatly depending upon the type of drugs allegedly involved, as well as the amount, and the existence of prior drug convictions. A Chesapeake drug lawyer can help you understand your case and give you guidance on how to proceed. For this reason, if you’ve been charged with a drug related offense contacting a criminal lawyer in Chesapeake should be your first step.

Why Choose a Chesapeake Drug Lawyer?

What a Drug Lawyer Can Do For You:

  • Research the facts and circumstances of your charge
  • develop the strongest possible legal strategy
  • Communicate with the court on your behalf
  • Keep you informed throughout the legal process

An experienced Chesapeake drug attorney will provide you with a full assessment of your case. We answer any questions you might have. We investigate all the facts and evidence, keeping you fully informed of your case status and any developments every step of the way.

In addition, we help you develop your legal strategy. We represent you at all court appearances. We even communicate with the prosecutor’s office on your behalf and will handle possible settlement negotiations when appropriate. You do not have to face your situation alone. Let a seasoned Chesapeake drug lawyer help you rigorously defend your case, and provide you some peace of mind.

Summary of Virginia Drug Laws

The way the laws are structured in Virginia, the severity of the drug charge (as well as the possible punishment) can depend upon the type of drugs involved. Possession of marijuana, according to Virginia Code 18.2-250.1, is a misdemeanor punishable by up to 30 days in jail and a fine of up to $500. A second conviction, however, is punishable by up to 12 months in jail and/or a fine of up to $2,500 (VA Code 18.2-250.1).

Drug Lawyer in Chesapeake VAVirginia law also prohibits possession of other types of drugs, called “controlled substances,” which includes drugs that are always illegal (like heroine, crack, and cocaine), as well as possessing prescription drugs without a valid prescription (VA Code 18.2-250). Punishment for possession of a controlled substance, a Class 5 felony, is up to 10 years in prison, or as decided by the judge or a jury, a jail sentence up to 12 months, and/or a fine up to $2,500 (VA Code 18.2-10).

Whether or not an individual has a prior drug conviction can have a significant impact on the outcome of a case. Sometimes, Virginia law provides a somewhat lighter sentence for first time drug offenders (VA Code 18.2-251). With the court’s approval, a first time offender can get probation instead of jail time, upon compliance with the probation requirements which can include community service hours, drug testing, and participation in a substance abuse program (Va Code 18.2-251).

Hire a Chesapeake Drug Lawyer Today

If this is your first brush with the law, you may be eligible for leniency based on Virginia’s first time offender provision. Make sure you know what your rights are. Each of the drugs crimes above requires the prosecutor to prove a number of factors to secure a conviction. Our experienced Chesapeake drug lawyers are familiar with all the factors required for drug crimes in the Chesapeake area, and they know how to analyze the facts and evidence of a case as they pertain to the factors. Get your free consultation today, and you will see how our experienced team will defend your case energetically from start to finish.