Norfolk Fake ID Lawyer

Media often portrays scenes in which a young protagonist attempts to purchase alcohol, or enter a club with a driver’s license they borrowed from an older sibling or bought from someone at school. In popular culture it is a fun, harmless activity in which young people engage.

However, it is a crime in Norfolk to possess a fake identification card or use another person’s driver’s license. If the police have accused you of violating the law, you should be worried about the negative consequences. If the court convicts you of possessing or using a driver’s license that is not yours, you may face jail time and hefty fines. If you are a student, your school may also issue penalties.

Make sure you speak with a Norfolk fake ID lawyer to learn more about your situation and what you may be able to do to protect yourself, your freedom and your future goals. Speak to a tenacious defense attorney to get started building your defense.

Fake ID Laws in Norfolk

The following are laws related to fake IDs:

  • Possessing, selling, obtaining or transferring a false identification,
  • Intending to use fake identification to buy a firearm,
  • Making or selling a fake driver’s license,
  • Using a fake ID to purchase alcohol, and
  • Possession of alcohol by a minor.

These offenses may involve jail time, fines, suspension of a driver’s license and community service.

Fraudulent Identification

It is a crime to get, have, sell or transfer any false form of identification, as noted in Code of Virginia §18.2-204.1. If a court convicts a person of this act, that is a Class 1 misdemeanor. A court may sentence a person to up to 12 months in jail and order that person pays a fine of up to $2,500.

Purchase of Firearm with Fake ID

If a person intends to use fake identification to purchase a firearm or intends for someone else to buy a gun, that is a Class 6 felony. If convicted, a person may have to disclose the felony conviction to potential employers. A person may face one to five years in jail and a fine of up to $2,500.

Sale and Manufacture of a Fake Driver’s License

If a person makes, attempts to sale through advertisement or actually sells or possesses a fake or reproduced driver’s license or other forms of identification, that is a Class 1 misdemeanor. The punishment is the same as noted above for possession of a fraudulent form of identification. If the police apprehend someone merely possessing a fake driver’s license, that is a Class 2 misdemeanor, as found in Code of Virginia §18.2-204.2. That person may face up to six months in jail and a fine of no more than $1,000.

Using a Fake ID to Purchase Alcohol

If a person attempts to purchase alcohol with a fraudulent driver’s license, that is a crime under the Code of Virginia §4.1-305(B). Doing so is a Class 1 misdemeanor. The court must order the person to pay a fine of at least $500 or service at least 50 hours of community service, along with possible jail time of up to 12 months. The court must also suspend the person’s driver’s license for at six months and up to one year.

Learn More from a Norfolk Fake ID Attorney Today

If the police arrest you for possession, use or sale of a fake ID, you may be at serious risk. On top of the laws discussed above, there is also the potential for an accusation of identify fraud. The advice of an attorney is invaluable during this process. A Norfolk fake ID lawyer will be able to help you understand the charges you are facing and how best to approach your unique situation. Before you make a decision, learn more about your options and how best to move forward.