Norfolk Traffic Enforcement

The following was taken from an interview with a Norfolk traffic lawyer as they discussed the city of Norfolk and how traffic laws are enforced in the area. To learn more or to discuss your case, call today and schedule a free consultation.

The City of Norfolk

Norfolk is the biggest city in the Hampton Roads area. It is located on what is commonly referred to as the south side of Hampton Roads. It is located just left of Virginia Beach and east of Hampton and Newport News. It is about 1 hour and 40 minutes from Richmond and about 3 to 4 hours from D.C and Northern Virginia depending on the traffic.

Highways and Major Roads in Norfolk

Norfolk has 3 highways. There is Interstate 264 which goes east to west along the southern part of the city and up to Portsmouth. There is also Interstate 64 which wraps around from the southeastern part of Norfolk and goes up northwest and continues through the tunnel leading out of Norfolk. Then there is Interstate 564 which is just a tiny little highway right next to the Norfolk Naval Station.

Traffic Law Enforcement

In Norfolk traffic laws are heavily enforced and some of the violations are also considered criminal charges which include reckless driving, driving on suspended license or driving while intoxicated. For a first offence these are considered class 1 misdemeanors and the driver then faces up to 12 months in jail plus a fine of $2500. A criminal offense also means that the conviction will cost someone a lot more than just DMV demerit points. It also means that the criminal convictions will last forever which will have an impact on many other aspects of a person’s life.

In Virginia reckless driving includes quite a few violations which include operating a vehicle at a speed that is deemed to be reckless or also operating a motor vehicle in a reckless manner that endangers life, limb or property. These definitions include charges such as driving at speeds of 20 miles/hour over the speed limit, driving over 80 miles/hour regardless of the speed limit, passing a school bus while it is stopped and loading and unloading passengers, passing any emergency vehicle with its lights on, driving too fast for the weather conditions or drag racing.

To be charged with reckless driving means that you are charged with a class 1 misdemeanor which carries a maximum penalty of 12 months in jail and a $2500 fine. It also includes 6 demerit points on your DMV driving records which stays on there for up to 11 years.

As far as the penalties go in speed related reckless cases the faster the person was travelling over 80 miles/hour the worse the penalties are going to be. These penalties could include a suspended license or suspended or active jail sentence. A reckless driving conviction also means that now they have a criminal record that lasts forever and they will not be able to have it expunged.