Portsmouth Traffic Lawyer

If you have gotten a traffic ticket in the Portsmouth area, an experienced Portsmouth traffic lawyer can help you understand the infraction and any possible negative consequences that could result from simply paying the ticket instead of challenging it. Paying a ticket outright is in essence admitting guilt of the infraction and results in a conviction of that traffic violation. An experienced traffic lawyer in Portsmouth can help you fight your ticket and possibly reduce or avoid some of these potential negative consequences.

Benefits of Working with a Local Traffic Attorney

Traffic Lawyer in Portsmouth VATraffic infractions on your record can affect your life in a number of ways. Some infractions result in demerit points being added to your license, some violations may cause your insurance rates to increase, and some moving violations can even result in a misdemeanor conviction. A Portsmouth traffic lawyer can help you with your case. We will assess your case, fully explain the applicable law and possible penalties, advise you of what your rights are given the circumstances, and help you develop a legal strategy.

Virginia Traffic Laws and Penalties

Exceeding the posted speed limit, governed by Virginia Code Section 46.2-870, is illegal and typically will result in a fine plus anywhere from 3 to 6 demerit points, depending upon how fast the individual was driving. Speeding tickets remain on a person’s driving record for 3-11 years, depending on the severity of the offense (VA Code 46.2-870). It is important to note that radar readings are often inaccurate, and an investigation into the facts and circumstances of the traffic stop is imperative to determine if the radar reading being used against you is indeed valid.

Driving without a license, a Class 2 misdemeanor, is punishable by confinement in jail for not more than six months, a fine of not more than $1,000, either or both, and suspension of the person’s privilege to drive for up to 90 days (VA Code 46.2-300; VA Code 18.2-11). Driving with a suspended or revoked license is a Class 1 misdemeanor which can result in a $2,500 fine, and/or up to 12 months in jail, plus the driver’s car can be impounded (VA Code 46.2-301). Driving a vehicle that is not registered is also illegal and will result in a fine if convicted (VA Code 46.2-600). Driving under the influence and reckless driving are both serious offenses, categorized as Class 1 misdemeanors punishable by up to 12 months in jail, and/or a fine up to $2,500, as well as a possible license suspension (VA Code 18.2-266; VA Code 46.2-852). If you have been issued a citation or been arrested for any of these offenses contact a Portsmouth traffic attorney today.

Get Your Free Consultation with a Portsmouth Traffic Lawyer

Traffic tickets can be expensive, but an increase in your insurance rates for as long as the conviction remains on your record may cost you even more than the ticket. A Portsmouth traffic lawyer can help you fight your ticket by investigating the facts of your case to chip away at the evidence being used against you. Additionally a lawyer that deals with traffic issues in Portsmouth can negotiate to get the ticket reduced or even dropped and advise you on steps to take before your court appearance to make sure you are prepared. Call a lawyer today to fight rigorously to defend your rights and minimize as much as possible the negative effects of the traffic ticket.