Suffolk Trespassing Lawyer

Trespassing is when a person enters someone else’s property or causes something to enter someone else’s land. There is civil and criminal trespass. Criminal trespass may result in jail time and fines. But the entering of another person’s property must be intentional with knowledge that the person is not supposed to be there. If another person has accused you of trespass, you should take immediate action to protect yourself.

A Suffolk trespassing lawyer may be able to offer you advice on how to proceed if the police charge you with a crime. Presumably, most people do not want to go to jail, and a conviction could likely affect other aspects of your life.

Speak with an accomplished attorney who has experience and knowledge about criminal procedure and this area of law. No matter why someone accused you of an offense, you have rights and a future worthy of protection.

Trespassing Laws in Suffolk

A person may not go onto the land of another person or remain there after being told to go, as found in Code of Virginia §18.2-119. The owner, lessee, or someone with authority may orally or in writing inform the person that they must exit the premises or that they may not enter the land. A sign may also put a person on notice that they are illegally entering another person’s property. A court order may also inform a person that they are no longer allowed to be on a piece of property.

If a person violates a court order, enters the land after being told not to, or remains on the property after being asked to leave, that is a Class 1 misdemeanor. A court may sentence a violator with up to 12 months in jail and order that person to pay a fine of up to $2,500. For more information about trespassing laws, consult with a trespassing lawyer in Suffolk.

Trespass to Damage Property

If a person enters another person’s property to commit damage, that is a Class 1 misdemeanor, as noted in Code of Virginia §18.2-121. However, if the trespass was done to incur damage to a person’s property because of the owner’s race, religion, color, or national origin, that is a Class 6 felony. The offender must go to jail for at least six months.

Drone Trespass

If a person uses an uncrewed aircraft, such as a drone, to enter another person’s property, that is a Class 1 misdemeanor, as described in Code of Virginia §18.2-121.3. The drone owner must also have at least one of the following intentions:

  • To coerce the property owner,
  • To intimidate the property owner,
  • To harass the property owner, or
  • Continuing in a trespassory action after the property owner has asked the person to stop.

Trespassing on Church or School Property

If a person trespasses on a church or school at night, that is a Class 3 misdemeanor, which is written in Code of Virginia §18.2-128. If a custodian or person with authority asks the trespasser to leave, and the trespasser remains or go on the property again, that is a Class 1 misdemeanor. If a person enters a school with the intent to kidnap a child, that is a Class 6 felony.

How a Suffolk Trespassing Attorney Could Help

If the police are investigating you for entering property without permission, you may face jail time and fines. A Suffolk trespassing lawyer will be a helpful resource, ensuring that you can protect yourself.

While you may not understand the laws or know how to negotiate with the prosecutor, an attorney will have those skills. Schedule an appointment with a lawyer to learn more about the legal issues ahead of you, what you can expect, and how best you should approach your situation.